High-fiving the office

February 21, 2013

This morning it took me fifteen minutes to walk past my team and get to my desk…

But that was this morning, let’s back up one month. Middle of January my team had a team building activity. Now, I know that teams aren’t built during an activity but there were reasons behind us having this activity. Anyway, as a final exercise we all got to close our eyes, relax and try to visualize what it would be like if everything in the workplace was going as we wanted. We then got to draw our internal images and present them to each other.

My drawing had two parts to it. One part showing a kanban board where work was flowing smoothly, representing how we worked well together as a team. The second part pictured me high-fiving my co-workers on my way to my desk, representing us having a great time together.

High-fiving

What I saw before me was how it would take me fifteen minutes every morning to move from the entrance to my desk because I high-fived everyone along the way, stopping to ask how they were doing and generally enjoy being with awesome people.

Some background might be in place here. My desk is at the opposite end of the building from the entrance, which means that I have to walk by the entire team every morning as I walk to my place. The thing is, that I’m an MBTI introvert. I enjoy people and company like most other people but it’s exhausting for me. Having a good time with other people makes me physically and mentally tired. Because of this I’ve been taking a detour every morning in order to get to my desk without having to pass anyone I know, that way I could save my energy for “more important stuff”.

As I looked at my drawings I realized that the first part was what we’re struggling with together as a team, but that the only thing standing between me and my vision in the second drawing was myself.

The day after the exercise I stopped for a minute after entering our floor. I took three deep breaths and began the walk to my desk. Only a few team members were at their desks so I walked up to the one colleague who I knew would understand the idea. I raised my hand and immediately got a slap. It felt good and we discussed the exercise for a while. The day after I repeated the ceremony but stopped by two of my colleagues on my way to my desk.

Since then I’ve been adding people to my daily routine and this morning I walked around high-fiving everyone at their desks, stopping to chat for a while; both personal stuff as well as job-related. I timed the walk and it took me fifteen minutes to get to my desk.

What I’ve noticed is that most people’s faces light up as I walk by for the daily slap. The guy next to me was a bit upset though, he didn’t want to always be the last one to get a high five.

I believe in the idea that we are our feelings. If I act happy, then I will be happy and I will feel happy. If I start the day with a smile and a high five, I will get a better day. Fake it till you make it so to speak. The bonus is that people around have to start their mornings with a smile and a high five as well.

So as an introvert, does this procedure consume energy? You bet it does, I have to brace myself every morning before I walk into the room.
Is it worth it? You bet it is!

Disclaimer: Not everyone enjoys a high five in the morning, especially if they’re in the middle of something and that’s okay too.

6 Responses to “High-fiving the office”

  1. Andrea Chiou Says:

    Wow Morgan – you are going vulnerable here! Thank you for sharing this story! I’m sure this, or a variant, will be a keeper for your team.
    I have also recently noticed completely changed energy in our stand-ups when I bring sincere energy and cheer. It does carry into the energy of the room….

    • morgsterious Says:

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting Andrea. I didn’t actually feel too vulnerable writing about this, perhaps because I’ve talked with my team mates about this as well. Also, I realize it might look binary in a post like this but of course I said ‘good morning’ to people before this as well but I realized that I too often took the (for me) easy way out.
      Cheers!
      /Morgan

  2. ulven77 Says:

    Hi Morgan!

    I love this 🙂 not only that you are challenging yourself and inspiring others to do the same but also opening up so that your teammates can meet you on your vulnerable side which is key to growth.

    Thank you for sharing!

    /Ulf

  3. Pernilla Says:

    Hej!
    This post really cheered me up. 🙂 Thanks for sharing, Morgan!
    ^5, o/\o
    //Pernilla


Leave a Reply

